Dr. Qing Hao (Ph.D. 2010 MIT, M.S. 2004 UT at Austin, B.E. 2001 Tsinghua University)

Qing Hao received his B.E. degree in Thermal Engineering from Tsinghua University, China, in 2001.  He then obtained his M.S. degree from the University of Texas at Austin in 2004, and his Ph.D. degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in 2010, both in Mechanical Engineering.  Under the supervision of Prof. Gang Chen, his Ph.D. thesis focused on developing nanostructured thermoelectric materials for applications in refrigeration and electric power generation. His work on high-performance nanostructured bismuth antimony telluride bulk alloys not only produced a co-first authored Science paper but also won him the 2008 R&D 100 Award as a team member.  After his PhD, he spent a year as a postdoctoral research associate in Prof. Gerbrand Ceder's group at MIT, primarily working on novel Na-ion batteries.  From Aug. 2011, he became an Assistant Professor in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering at the University of Arizona. His research interest is nanoscale energy transport and its applications in advanced materials and nano-electronic devices. His current research efforts include heat transport inside Li-ion batteries, high-power electronics, boiling and condensation, thermal insulation materials, thermoelectrics, measurements and engineering applications of graphene and other two-dimensional materials. In 2015, he received the AFOSR YIP Award for graphene research. In 2017, he received NSF CAREER Award for thermal studies of grain boundaries. He was promoted to Associate Professor in May 2017.


Curriculum Vitae


Graduate Students

Dongchao Xu  
Yue Xiao
Bo Xiao
Mingi Kang
Fabian Javier Medina
Sien Wang


Undergraduate Students

Jesse Z Chen
Xiaoxue Han
Xinyi Li
Zhizhou Yang
Jiaming Zhu
Geli Yang
Yu Tian
Angelica Calanog


Graduate researcher

Evan Segal (Graduated with M.S. in 2015)


Visiting scholar

Amit Kohli


Research Associate

Hongbo Zhao


Undergraduate researcher

Matt Hart 
Benjamin Cohodas
Andrew Samuel kirby Granatstein 
Alisa Zukova
Juan Carlos Chavez
Padmanabh Baruah
Michael L Iuzzolino ‎
Bradley Addison Rubin  
Li Jiang 
Oliver J Beres
Ruben Adkins-Rieck ‎
Ernesto Barraza-Valdez
Julio César Giacomin
Caio Gomes
Aiman Mohamed Aween
Wagner Scaglioni 
Michael Kronenfeld
Tiancheng Dai
Xiaokang Wu
Nicholas Bradley Siegel
Tingyu Cheng  
Philip James Ciuffetelli
Alexander Paul Gerwe
Gabriel alexander Vasquez diaz
Shichen Wu
Isaac Charcos